My 240v Battery/Inverter Track Side Charging Setup

joer

For anyone that’s interested, here’s my setup for topping up my Varg at the track. I didn’t really want to deal with the maintenance and fuel on a gas generator. I got the Varg because I was sick of changing oil and cleaning air filters. :) So I went for an external battery instead.

I had posted this on Facebook, but that’s such a lousy medium for referencing something like this.

Please note: I’m not an electrician, so I’ve likely done something ill-advised here. Don’t take my word as gospel.

I bought a 5KWh 48V LiFePo4 battery off AliExpress along with a 5KW 48v to split-phase 240V inverter. It’s enough that I can comfortably run the bike’s charger at full speed in between sessions at the track.

At max charging speed, I’m pulling about 75 Amps at the 48V battery, so I only get to use about 80% of the battery’s rated capacity before the BMS shuts it down. It’s about 60-ish minutes of charging at full speed. I could slow down the charge rate on the Varg and probably get more out of the battery, but I don’t really need it.

The inverter has 2 sets of North American 120V outlets on the back, each 180 degrees out of phase with the other. I bought a Y-adapter that let me recombine them into a single 240V NEMA L14-30 plug which the Stark plugs into nicely.

I also bought a pair of pre-crimped 2 AWG cables with Anderson connectors that make it super easy to connect and disconnect the DC side of things. I bought a much smaller set of wires that I wire up to the inverter’s pre-charge resistor. I plug that one in first, wait 10 seconds for the capacitors to fill, and THEN plug in the large cables. Otherwise, you get one hell of a SNAP.

The battery came with a 48v charger, but it was defective. I ended up buying my own 15 Amp charger which will easily fill the battery overnight.