General Electric trials

Tzsuzuki

Hi all, I happened across this forum while researching the new Electric motion factor E, which I am considering. I have been riding and competing in observed trials now for about 6 years. It’s great fun and fairly safe if you stay within your skill set.
While I see some serious handicaps with electric dirt bikes (range), there are almost none with electric trials motorcycles.
For those that don’t know what a trials competition is: A typical trial consists of 8 sections or tests, spread out on a loop 3-6 miles in length, which is repeated three times for a total of 24 sections.
My wife has a 2015 EM works fine for her, a bit heavy, but she gets around just fine for a 60 year old. I currently ride a gas powered Vertigo nitro 250.
We have a number of competitors on EM’s and one on a Mecatecno dragonfly (138lbs!) in Arizona. The nature of trials riding and competing does not require a lot of power or fuel. At a local trial the electric riders have no trouble completing the competition and then some. My friend on the dragonfly was,given a loaner battery for a national completion, 32 sections, he won his class senior clubman, he is 69.
I would encourage anyone that is devoted,to electric motorcycles to give trials a try. You will instantly have a advantage over new riders on ICE bikes.
I myself have concluded that I may be better off on a EM or dragonfly, leaning towards EM for the gear box.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Very cool, @Tzsuzuki. Thank you for the info and the stories.

I found some links:

Please post some links to the local events where you compete.

Tzsuzuki