MXR suspension for enduro style riding

dgedition

I was thinking about picking up an MXR for play riding out of the house. Anyone with MXR experience have insight on its ridability in the rocks/roots with this SX inspired suspension?

I know it wont be as nice as a revalved/resprung suspension but if I could get 80% of the way there with clickers and air adjustments Id be happy. I weigh in at 175 geared up so I luckily fall into the threshold of stocker suspension in general.

Philip

Administrator
Staff member
Welcome to the forum, dgedition!

I have some experience with riding rocks and roots. I have a root in my backyard that I hit every 25 seconds, and I rode a plenty or rocks in Arizona. The Redshift does very well in that terrain compared to ICE bikes. It has a ton of traction and is much more predictable.

I have an MX with a revalved suspension, and I just picked up an MXR. The MXR's suspension is stiffer than the stock MX suspension, but softer than my revalved MX suspension. I weigh 200 lbs. The damping is on the low side. So... it should be just right for you at the MX track.

However, for trail riding, if you do not want to do any jumps or bunny hops, you might want to try a rear spring that is about 4% softer, and of course, a lower fork air pressure.

The stock damping should be good enough for you. No revalve necessary.

And strongly consider running Goldentype Fatty front (search this forum), Tube Saddles in both wheels and low (6-10) air pressures in both tires. You will not flinch next time you encounter rocks and roots.

dgedition

Thanks for the quick replies!

Philip-Thanks for the insight, I'll try it box stock and see how it does.

I'll look into one of those Goldentyres and maybe throw an 18" on the back if I wanna get serious with this bike.

I've never heard of tube saddles, we usually just run bib mousse over here. Being able to run that low trials like PSI sounds interesting.