Top Fairing screws

TeslaRaptor

In other posts I have admitted I am a Neophyte mechanic. But usually I can unscrew things. But not having much luck with the top fairing screws. On either side on a 2018 MXR.
Just keeps spinning when trying to loosen it. Spins and spins. Both sides.
I loosened the charge port shroud to see if I could get behind it, but there isn’t a nut there or anything that would help to get it out. Any ideas?

note: the ugly (imho) sticker kit came with the bike.....so FYI on that. 😎

image.jpg

snydes

Staff member
There are little brass inserts in there too unfortunately. They are spinning in the plastic. You are going to have to try and get something in between and pry/pop them out.

Trialsman

I ended up using a very small drill and drilling nearly perpendicular through the plastic and into the brass near the bottom. I then pushed in a short section of drill rod until it was flush with the plastic surface. I have had no issues since I made the fix and the brass is anchored within the plastic. Just be careful you do not drill into the screw or you will be - screwed that is.

snydes

Staff member
That’s a good suggestion. You will have to take the “delta wing” as it’s called (black piece with the charge port) off along with the shroud(s). If there is access and you can pinpoint the back portion of the brass insert, you can do like Trialsman suggested and pin it.

bluefxstc